The Maxwell “Max” Niessner Suicide Prevention Fund

Jim and Pam Niessner recently established the Maxwell “Max” Niessner Suicide Prevention Fund at The Community Foundation of Washington County to memorialize their son Max who passed away on June 2 at the age of 17. Max was born in Columbia, Maryland, and was currently a junior at North Hagerstown High School. He volunteered at St. Ann Catholic Church as an altar server and religious education aide. Max enjoyed Cub Scouts, baseball, football and American history.

Max’s parents created the Maxwell “Max” Niessner Suicide Prevention Fund to provide education and awareness for the prevention of suicide to help other families not endure such a loss. Donations may be made in Max’s memory to the Community Foundation by mail, or by clicking on "Donate" on the left-hand side of this website.

Hilton Receives Christine Ecker Memorial Scholarship

Charles and Karen Ecker recently presented Kayley Hilton with the Christine Ecker Memorial Scholarship at North Hagerstown High School’s awards ceremony. Miss Hilton’s extracurricular activities include cheerleading, an internship at the Meritus Health childcare facility and various community service projects. She will attend a four-year university and pursue a degree in sports medicine or physical therapy.

The Eckers created the Christine Ecker Memorial Scholarship at the Community Foundation of Washington County to honor their daughter’s unfulfilled dreams and successes. This yearly scholarship awards a cheerleader at North Hagerstown High School with preference given to those planning a career working with children.


  • Foundation Scholarships Presented at South High

    July 21, 2014

    The Community Foundation recently presented scholarships to Whitney Jarrett and Noah Wright at South Hagerstown High School. Miss Jarrett accepted the Sherrill H. Koontz Memorial Scholarship. Mr. Wright received both the Bill Maletzky Athletic Scholarship and the Ralph Stottlemyer, Sr. Scholarship. 

  • Dr. Morgan Scholarship Awarded to Hancock Student

    July 10, 2014

    Dr. Elizabeth Morgan, former superintendent of Washington County Public Schools (WCPS), recently presented Autumn Pittman with the Dr. Elizabeth Molina Morgan 2010 National Superintendent of the Year Scholarship at Hancock Middle-Senior High School.

Newsletter Signup

Signup for our newsletter

Join Our Mailing List