Community Foundation Awards Scholarships at Williamsport High School

The Community Foundation of Washington County MD, Inc. recently awarded the following scholarships to four students at Williamsport High School:

  • Brendon Colliflower Memorial Scholarship of $1,300 to Kaitlin Murphy.
  • Quinn Alec Hoover Boy Scout Legacy Scholarship of $1,000 to Joshua Horn.
  • Remsberg-Trout Scholarship of $500 to Hanna Moser.
  • Chris W. Smith Memorial Scholarship of $800 to Evan McVicker.

WilliamsportHS7-17Kaitlin Murphy served as team captain for both the varsity volleyball and basketball teams. She was also the president of the Science National Honor Society, vice-president of the senior class and treasurer of the National Honor Society, Best Buddies and Student Government Association (SGA). Murphy will attend McDaniel College and major in biology/pre-med.

Joshua Horn has been a member of Boy Scout Troop 58 since 2005 when he started as a cub scout. He also participates in the Venturing Crew 58, Order of the Arrow Lodge 317, Williamsport Community Band, Hagerstown Municipal Band, Williamsport High School Blue Band and indoor track and field. Horn plans to attend Saint Joseph’s University and pursue a degree in actuarial science.

Hanna Moser played on both the varsity soccer team and FC Frederick Premier Soccer, ran cross country, served as secretary for SGA and vice president of the Science National Honor Society. She was dually enrolled at Williamsport and Hagerstown Community College. Moser will attend Bridegwater College with a double major in biochemistry and Spanish, while playing collegiate soccer.

Evan McVicker served as team manager for all four years with the basketball, baseball and football teams at Williamsport. He would like to major in sports journalism and become a sportscaster someday.