Community Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

The Community Foundation of Washington County MD elected four new members to its board of trustees at a recent board meeting. The new trustees include Todd Baer, Brett McKoy, Tom Newcomer and F. Christian Wright, IV.

Newbd3-19-websiteTodd Baer, a retired, local investor, founded T.A. Baer, Inc., T.A. Baer Logistics, LLC and Warehouse & Terminal Properties, LLC. He graduated from James Madison University with a Bachelor of Science degree. Baer serves on many boards, including Emmanuel United Methodist Church, Family Heritage Trust Company and AmeriServe Financial.

Brett McKoy has served Washington County for the past 30 years as a police officer with the Hagerstown Department of Police and a senior pastor of Cutting Edge Ministries. Now retired from the police department, McKoy is a member of the Fraternal Order of Police, Thomas Pangborn Lodge #88. He has a bachelor’s degree in Christian counseling and a master’s degree in theology from Life Christian University in Tampa, Florida.

Tom Newcomer is the president and owner of R. Bruce Carson Jewelers. He has a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Economics from McDaniel College and his Graduate Gemologist Degree from the Gemological Institute of America in California. Newcomer received his master’s in business administration from American University. He has served on numerous boards, including the Washington County Chamber of Commerce, Greater Hagerstown Committee, Hospice of Washington County, WCMFA and YMCA of Hagerstown.

Christian Wright, IV, serves as president of Wright-Gardner Insurance, Inc. and is a Certified Risk Manager and Insurance Counselor. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Rhetoric & Communication Studies from the University of Virginia and a master’s in business administration from Frostburg State University. Wright is an active member of St. John’s Episcopal Church and board member for the Washington County Community Action Council, Horizon Goodwill Industries, YMCA of Hagerstown and more.

Leaving the Community Foundation Board of Trustees this year after many years of devoted service are Reverend Dr. D. Stuart Dunnan, headmaster at Saint James School; Louis Giustini, regional president at The Columbia Bank, John Hershey, III, senior vice president of The Hershey-Fitzsimmons Group of RBC Wealth Management; Steven O’Farrell, vice president, William G. Bowen, Inc. and Robin Twigg, vice president of Twigg Cycles. “I appreciate the dedication and tremendous support from these individuals to the Community Foundation,” said President/CEO Stacey Crawford. “I look forward to working with our new board members and am thankful for everyone who assists the Foundation in its efforts.”